Photo Credit: Austin Krause There are effective commercial programs like ESET’s NOD32, McAfee and Norton Antivirus. However, some of the commercial programs can bog down system resources. Especially if you get a full feature commercial program that includes a Firewall, Spyware and Internet browsing protection. Some of them can be more annoying than actually getting a virus. On the other hand, free programs like groovyPost’s favorite Microsoft Security Essentials are just as effective, light on system resources and free. What we want to know is — which antivirus utility do you use? Do you go for the full feature expensive commercial utility? Or do you keep it free and simple with a free antivirus utility? We can’t include them all in our poll, so if you use something not on the list, click Other and tell us about it.

MS finally has done something right! -RAP, II As supplements to MSE I use MalwareBytes Free, SuperAntiSpyware Free and Microsoft’s msert. Spybot portable is also part of my cache, but all are used infrequently. Would like to see a similar survey for what readers use as their firewall… – If I need to download something I don’t trust, I first run it in a virtualized sandbox. – Keep everything updated, especially Windows and Web Browsers. – Don’t use IE… – Run Ghostery and Noscript @Ziggy: You have a solid security strategy there! Nice work. I use SAS portable in SafeMode to remove infections from people’s infected systems I work on. Does a stellar job. Food for thought… The only problem is the ads. MSE has no ads and it performs almost as well. If I were protecting Grandma’s or a teenager’s computer I would lock it down with Norton. Overall at home, I’ve never had a problem and you just can’t argue with Free. 1300 Droppers blocked, 75643 trojans blocked and dozens more blocked. All thanks to ESET team. ESET regular cosumer :) Malaysia Comment Name * Email *

Δ  Save my name and email and send me emails as new comments are made to this post.

Reader Poll  Which Antivirus Utility Do You Use  - 48Reader Poll  Which Antivirus Utility Do You Use  - 94Reader Poll  Which Antivirus Utility Do You Use  - 85